words escape me

a cage of black iron
6 bars wide, each bar
6 pinkies thick, each bar
6 centimeters apart,
this cold, dead earth
below my feet impenetrable
i stand there
in my 6 by 6 by 6 prison
looking out the
soil around me is putrid
rancid, untouchable
but a bit further off
just a few baby steps
tiny steps, step, step, step, step
away are green meadows
fresh air, bright sun,
warm wind, and here
i am standing sentinel
to the world that some
share, but most don’t.
in my hands a little
red book, diminutive in size,
opulent in knowledge,
the tiny writing i decipher
in the darkness, solitary
sojourn through these
aged pages, here a stain
here a blot, can’t read that,
so i raise my eyes to
a better sight, and i see
two birds flying in unison
if anything i would describe
them as happy, if not
a state of delusion, but
sometimes reality is harsh
delusion is welcome to this world.

4 comments on “words escape me”

  1. …wow Justin. What were you doing? (So emo…)

  2. I use this as my vent for frustration XDD and this was the product. Usually it’s just spur of the moment stuff.

  3. Hahahaha. Sweet, Justin.
    The six by six ……by six by six by six.
    @__________@ XD
    I think you need to continue the idea of a delusion in your next poem. 😀

  4. Hahahaha. Sweet, Justin.
    The six by six ……by six by six by six.
    @__________@ XD
    I think you need to continue the idea of a delusion in your next poem. 😀


Leave a Reply

